the girl who saved north of normal bird box finding me the boundless natchez burning most dangerous animal the one harry quebert

22 Jul

Save the Date: Cory and Shannon are coming to a city near you!

Hey guys,

We have started planning our Fall Product Knowledge Tour! This is where Cory and I come to a city near you, and talk about the biggest books of the Fall. We’ll bring a ton of finished books, advanced copies (and yes food) with us. Who knows, there may be even a special guest or two. With new books from Graeme Simsion, Patricia Cornwell, Martin Short, Amy Poehler, Thomas King and Justin Trudeau there are a lot of books to be excited about.

Here are the dates! We’ll be sending out an official invite shortly, but just wanted to let you know, so you can mark them in your calendars.

SAVE THE DATE:

TORONTO: Sunday, September 7th, 6:30pm

LONDON: Sunday, September 14th, 6:30pm

OTTAWA: Sunday, September 21st, 7:00pm

MONTREAL: Monday, September 22nd, 6:30pm

HALIFAX: Sunday, October 5th, 9:00am

CALGARY: Sunday, October 19th, 6:30pm

EDMONTON: Monday, October 20th, 6:30pm

VANCOUVER: Tuesday, October 21st, 7:00pm

VICTORIA: Wednesday, October 22nd, 7:30pm

WINNIPEG: Sunday, October 26th, 7:00pm

Don’t worry about RSVP-ing yet, we’ll have all that information in the official invite.

Locations and special guest information to come!

Hope to see you all this Fall.

Shannon

18 Jul

A special package for you…

Hey y’all!

Be on the lookout! Your store should be receiving one of these special packages…

Can’t wait to hear what you think. (And if you haven’t received yours let me know!)

Shannon
HarperCollinsCanada

10 Jul

The Queen of the Tearling is HERE!!!

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen is FINALLY HERE! You guys know that I love this book (many, many of us here at HarperCollinsCanada do) so I’m so excited to see it on bookshelves this week.

The Queen of the Tearling is the first book in an epic new trilogy about a young woman who must reclaim her throne and learn to rule a kingdom in turmoil. It has adventure, magic, and a strong, fierce heroine.

Here’s a sneak peek at the transit ads we will be running next week across the GTA:

image

The author also wrote a really, really great piece on Buzzfeed entitled ‘Why We Need “Ugly” Heroines’. Check it out here: http://www.buzzfeed.com/erikajohansen/all-shapes-and-sizes

image

Hope you guys get the chance to read this one!

Shannon

08 Jul

Look What’s Coming This Fall…

Over the past month we’ve revealed some of the covers of our biggest Fall 2014 books! Check them out:

Flesh and Blood by Patricia Cornwell - New crime fiction starring Kay Scarpetta, coming November 11th, 2014!

Desert God by Wilbur Smith -  Game of Thrones meets Ancient Egypt in this epic new historical fiction novel, coming October 21st, 2014!

The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah — A thrilling new mystery starring Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot, on sale September 9th, 2014.

And finally…

The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion — Are you ready for Don and Rosie’s next adventure? Coming September 30th, 2014!

07 Jul

Some Smackdown Updates

We love this homemade display for The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden from Chapters Belleville!

And, check out the innovative way Chapters St Vital is promoting Natchez Burning - “Natchez rhymes with matches”!

What a great start to Summer Smackdown! Keep those updates coming :)

03 Jul

The Product Knowledge Tour: Fall 2014 Questionnaire

Hello all!

As you know, we are starting to plan our Fall 2014 Product Knowledge Tour and would LOVE some feedback from you!

If you have a few minutes, could you possibly email me (shannon.parsons@harpercollins.com) and answer the following questions? Extra ARCs to anyone that provides feedback!

1. What’s the one city we absolutely have to visit this year?

2. Where you do think our Product Knowledge event should be held in your city? (Exact venue suggestions are definitely appreciated!)

3. What types of ARCs should we bring?

4. Who is your ideal special guest? (Besides Cory and I, of course!)

5. Do you prefer a morning or an evening event?

6. What’s the best day of the week to hold the event, for you and your coworkers?

7. What kind of food/snacks would you like served?

8. What’s the one thing that you think we can do to get more of your coworkers to come to an event???

Any feedback would be greatly, greatly appreciated!

Thanks guys,

Shannon

25 Jun

Marjorie loved The Drop!

"Just finished The Drop by Dennis Lehane. WOW!!! As expected, the twists and turns at the end really mess with what you expected. It was a great story and will be a super easy sell when it comes out. Did I read correctly that it will be a movie? I am not a big fan of movies made from books, but his don’t disappoint, they translate to film very well. Thank you for sending it, I really enjoyed this book and will pass it on to my fellow Lehane fans at work.”
~ Marjorie, Coles

And yes, the film adaptation is coming this Fall, starring James Gandolfini and Tom Hardy! Here’s the trailer:

Want to read The Drop? I do have a few more ARCs left! Email me if you’re interested.

Shannon

19 Jun

Have you seen our Bird Box ads?

(You might recognize one of those blindfolded gals!)

16 Jun

IT’S SUMMER SMACKDOWN TIME!

Good luck Chapters, Indigo & Coles stores! Hope you have fun championing your Smackdown title!

Summer Smackdown officially begins today, and continues throughout the summer until September 1st. Don’t forget to email us if you have any great news about your book, or if you want give a shout-out to a coworker, or if you have any great pictures of your efforts.

Have fun!

12 Jun

Looking for something to read?

… Well, luckily I have some hot, new advanced reading copies available, just for Indigo, Chapters and Coles booksellers!

First up, The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johanson. 
I’m obsessed with this book. It’s the first in an epic new trilogy about a young woman who must win back her kingdom’s throne. It’s so good, guys.

image

Next, Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern.
This one’s for YA fans! It’s a touching story about two best friends and the bond they share. It’s perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars.

image

I also have a *few* copies of each of the following, so if you want one get your request in quick!

Animals by Emma Jane Unsworth (Fiction, May 20) — Life changes for two party girls when one of them gets engaged.

The Care & Management of Lies by Jacqueline Winspear (Fiction, July 1) — A stand-alone novel from the bestselling author of the Maisie Dobbs novels, set in WWI.

In the Slender Margin by Eve Joseph (Non-Fiction, April 22) — This powerful book is part memoir, part meditation on how we die and how we deal with death.

Sharing You by Molly McAdams (Fiction, July 1) — New Adult fans, this one’s for you!

Man in The Shadows by Gord Henderson (Fiction, July 1) — A historical novel about the formation of Canada. History fans, this one’s for you

Wicked Games by Sean Olin (Teen, June 10) — Tainted love. Sexy secrets. A chilling revenge plot. It’s all here in Wicked Games, a new YA novel from Sean Olin and the start of a new series.

Email me at shannon.parsons@harpercollins.com if you are interested in any of the above!